Protocol Division

The Protocol Division is responsible for all matters related to Sri Lanka’s diplomatic relations with the international community through internationally accepted norms, practices and principle of reciprocity. The Protocol Division is entrusted with the responsibility of affording courtesies, privileges and immunities stipulated under the Diplomatic Privileges Act (09 of 1996 of Sri Lanka) to the Diplomatic Missions as well as International Organizations based in Sri Lanka.
The Division is also responsible for facilitating Presentation of Credentials for Heads of Mission – designate to Sri Lanka, accreditation and concurrently accreditation of Heads of Mission from Sri Lanka, facilitating logistical and protocol arrangements for incoming visits of Heads of States/Governments, Ministers of Foreign Affairs and any other dignitaries if required, outgoing visits of H.E. the President, Hon. Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and conferences hosted by the Government of Sri Lanka.
The Division is also facilitates issuance of visas to foreign Diplomats, residence permits, VIP Lounge facility, duty free and customs clearance for purchases by Diplomatic Missions/International Organizations and diplomats based in Sri Lanka.
Please click here for :
The Diplomatic Privileges Act (No. 9 of 1996) of Sri Lanka.

Protocol Assistance

Protocol Division is headed by Chief of Protocol, Mr. M.R. Hassen.

Contact Details:

Telephone:+94 11 2421816
Fax :+94 11 2325346
e-mail :

General Contact Details of Protocol Division

Telephone : 0094 11 2 327 048
Fax : 0094 11 2328681, 2325346
Email :