Health Ministry distributes ambulances to 7 provinces

Health Ministry distributes ambulances to 7 provinces

The Ministry of Health has distributed eighty six (86) brand new ambulances with intensive care facilities to hospitals in seven Provinces in Sri Lanka, namely the Northern, North Central, North Western, Sabaragamuwa, Central, Uva and Eastern Provinces. The ambulances were handed over at a ceremony held at the BMICH on 11th March 2014, to mark the current National Health Week (10 - 17 March 2014).  

The highest number of ambulances totalling 24 has been allocated to the Northern Province, which have been assigned to the 5 districts in the province as follows - Killinochchi – 7, Mullaitivu – 6, Jaffna – 5, Vavuniya – 3 and Mannar - 3.

The remaining 62 ambulances have been distributed among the other 6 provinces of North Central – 9, North Western – 5, Sabaragamuwa -11, Central – 22, Uva – 2 and Eastern – 13.

The distribution of ambulances has been implemented under the project for the improvement of basic social services targeting emerging regions, funded by a long term loan agreement with the Japan International Co-operation Agency (JICA).

Ministry of External Affairs
13 March 2014
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Please follow and like us: