BIMSTEC 5th Task Force Meeting on Trans Power Exchange concludes on a positive note

BIMSTEC 5th Task Force Meeting on Trans Power Exchange concludes on a positive note


Group photograph of participants at the BIMSTEC 5th Task Force Meeting on Trans Power Exchange held in Dhaka, Bangladesh

Senior officials of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand met in the Bangladesh capital, Dhaka to attend the 5th BIMSTEC Task Force Meeting on Trans Power Exchange on 16th March 2015 on the invitation of Government of Bangladesh. The meeting was inaugurated by Mr. Monowar Islam, Secretary, Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources of Bangladesh and was chaired by Mr. Anwar Hossain, Joint Secretary (Development) of the Power Division. BIMSTEC Secretary General, Ambassador Sumith Nakandala was also present on the occasion.

The meeting highlighted the rich hydropower potential of the BIMSTEC member nations, especially India, Myanmar, Bhutan and Nepaland the need to look for sustainable energy resources to meet the increasing demand for power in the region.

During the meeting, the officials were able to reach an understanding on a finalised draft text for the establishment of a Trans Power Grid Interconnection within the region. The proposed MOU would provide a broad framework for the implementation of grid interconnections to promoting rational and optimal power transmission in the region. It will facilitate the setting up of power grid connections forreliable, secure and economic electricity supply and trade among its seven member countries.

The draft MoU was prepared based on the Declaration of First BIMSTEC Energy Ministers' Conference held on October 4, 2005 which covered the areas of trans-power exchange and grid interconnection, hydropower development and energy security of the region. The draft MOU which was finalized would be placed at the upcoming BIMSTEC Energy Senior Officials Meetings for review and then be submitted to the Third Energy Ministers' Meeting in Kathmandu sometime this year for signing.

The Sri Lanka delegation for the meeting was led by Mr. Upali Daranagama, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Power & Energy of Sri Lanka and included representatives from the Ceylon Electricity Board and the Sri Lanka High Commission in Dhaka.


High Commission of Sri Lanka
18th March 2015

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Please follow and like us: