Southeast Asia & Central Asia Division

Southeast Asia & Central Asia Division

Southeast Asia & Central Asia Division handles matters pertaining to relations with 11 countries in the ASEAN Region namely Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, Philippines, Malaysia, Myanmar, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Brunei Darussalam and Timor-Leste.

Sri Lanka has seven resident Missions in the region. The Division is assigned with the task of following up on political and economic developments as well as coordinating bilateral relations with ASEAN countries. Southeast Asia Division facilitates Sri Lanka’s foreign policy with ASEAN Countries in the political, economic, defence, social and technical spheres. The Southeast Asia Division is also assigned to coordinate matters related to regional and multilateral platforms such as ASEAN Organization, ASEAN Regional Forum, Shangri-La Dialogue.

Points of Contact

Director General

Name:Ms. Sashikala Premawardhane
Telephone : +94 11 2 478 987
Email: dgsea(at)



Name: Ms. Thilini Ihalage
Telephone: +94 112 324 903
E-mail: thilini.ihalage(at)


Head of Branch

Name: Ms. H. Mohanlal
Telephone: +94 112 321 261
E-mail: sea(at)