Ocean Affairs, Environment and Climate Change Division

Ocean Affairs, Environment And Climate Change Division

The Ocean Affairs, Environment & Climate Change Division is mandated with promotion, coordination and coherence of Sri Lanka’s international engagements related to ocean affairs, environment and climate change and provides foreign policy perspective on the same to relevant government ministries and line agencies.

Further, the Division promotes Sri Lanka’s role in international, regional, and sub-regional organizations within the spheres of ocean affairs, environment and climate change, to strengthen the objectives of those organizations and pursue Sri Lanka’s image as a bridge builder, thereby enhancing dividends for the country’s interests.

Within its mandate, the Division coordinates projects and initiatives to increase Sri Lanka’s overall interaction with foreign countries, organizations and other related entities in Sri Lanka in promoting Sri Lanka as a platform for interactive dialogues/ conferences/ workshops in close collaboration with all stakeholders.

Points of Contact

Director General

Name: Mr. Rizvi Hassen
Telephone: +94 112 458 277
Email: rizvi.hassen(at)mfa.gov.lk


Name: Mr. Rifa Wadood
Telephone: +94 112 207 231
Email: rifa.wadood(at)mfa.gov.lk

Head of Branch

Name: Mr. Anjana Ileperuma
Telephone: +94 112 207 232
   +94 117 445 651
Email: oaecc(at)mfa.gov.lk

Personal Assistant

Name: Ms. Waruni Silva
Telephone:+94 112 458 277
Email: dgoascp(at)mfa.gov.lk