East Asia Division

East Asia Division

East Asia Division is responsible for maintaining bilateral relations with countries in the East Asian region; Australia, China, Japan, Mongolia, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea and a section of the Pacific Islands; Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Sri Lanka has established 06 Diplomatic Missions and Posts in the region.

Additionally, the Division is entrusted with the task of maintaining relations with regional organizations such as  Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) and the Bali Process.

Points of Contact

Acting Director General

Name: Mr. W.A.U.Poshitha Perera
Telephone: +94 112 324 665
Email : dgeast(at)mfa.gov.lk


Name: Ms. Udani Gunawardena 
Telephone: +94 112 325 412
E-mail: udani.gunawardena(at)mfa.gov.lk

Deputy Director

Name: Ms. Sumudu Wilpatha
Telephone: +94 112 347 417
E-mail: sumudu.wilpatha(at)mfa.gov.lk

Head of Branch

Name: Ms. Shashikala Ranathunaga
Telephone: +94 112 321 261
E-mail: eastasia(at)mfa.gov.lk