Middle East Division

Middle East Division

The Middle East Division covers and coordinates all bilateral political, economic matters, and multilateral issues pertaining to the Middle East region.

Sri Lanka has established formal diplomatic relations with 14 Middle Eastern countries. (Kingdom of Bahrain, Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of Iraq, State of Israel, Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, State of Kuwait, Lebanese Republic, Sultanate of Oman, State of Palestine, State of Qatar, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Syrian Arab Republic, United Arab Emirates and Republic of Yemen).

Out of the 14 states in this region, Sri Lanka has established 11 resident Embassies (Manama, Tehran, Bagdad, Tel Aviv, Amman, Kuwait, Beirut, Muscat, Doha, Riyadh & Abu Dhabi),  one Representative office in Ramallah City and  2 Consulates Generals (Dubai & Jeddah).

Yemen and Syria, are concurrently accredited to Sri Lanka Embassies in Oman and Lebanon respectively.

There are 04 Honorary Consul representations in Israel (Jerusalem), Palestine (Bethlehem), Iraq (Kurdistan) and Syria (Damascus).

Sri Lanka Embassy in Iran is concurrently accredited to Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan.

The Division also coordinates with 08 Middle Eastern Embassies in Colombo (Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates) and 06 Middle Eastern Embassies in New Delhi (Lebanon, Jordan, Israel, Syria, Yemen, Bahrain)
There are 03 Honorary Consul representations from Middle Eastern region in Colombo (Israel, Jordan and Yemen)

Points of Contact

Director General

Name:Mr. Lakshitha Ratnayake
Telephone: +94 112 325 620
Email: dgme@mfa.gov.lk


Name: Ms. R.Y. Kethma
Email: kethma.yapa(at)mfa.gov.lk

Head of Branch

Name: Mr. Hemantha Bandara
Telephone: +94 117 445 709
Email: me@mfa.gov.lk