Africa Affairs Division

Africa Affairs Division

The Africa Affairs Division deals with matters pertaining to relations with 54 countries in the African continent and the African Union (AU).

The Division is assigned with the task of following political and socio-economic developments as well as coordinating bilateral relations with these countries.

It also directs Sri Lanka’s foreign policy with these countries in the political, economic, security, education and social spheres. Technical cooperation and development assistance, investment relations, tourism and cultural promotion through bilateral, regional and multilateral engagements are part of the responsibilities of the Division.

Sri Lanka has 6 resident Missions in the region. (Egypt, South Africa, Nigeria, Kenya, Seychelles, Ethiopia).

Points of Contact

Director General

                              Name: Mr. B. Kandeepan                                                              Telephone: +94 112 325 228                             Fax: +94 112 472 170
Email: dgaad(at)


Name: Mr. N.L.A. Haleem
    Telephone: +94 117 445 968
Email: abdul.haleem(at)

Head of Branch

Name: Ms. G.T.I. Gunathilake
Telephone: +94 117 445 721
Email: africa(at)

Personal Assistant to DG

Name: Ms. R.C. Jinanjali
Telephone: +94 112 325 228
Email: dgaad(at)