Latin America and the Caribbean Division

Latin America and the Caribbean Division

The Latin America and Caribbean Division of the Ministry coordinates all matters related to Sri Lanka’s bilateral relations with countries in the region in the political, economic and cultural spheres.

Thirty-three (33) countries are covered by the Division comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The Division facilitates the establishment of a strong and close partnership with countries in the Latin America and Caribbean region by Sri Lanka.  Bilateral relations with countries are facilitated through the two resident Sri Lankan diplomatic Missions in the region, i.e., Brazil and Cuba; by Sri Lanka’s resident Mission in the US and Permanent Representation to the UN in New York; and through Sri Lanka’s concurrent accreditation in the region. The Division also functions as the first point of communication with the Embassies of Brazil and Cuba in Colombo, and with non-resident Latin American and Caribbean Missions based in New Delhi with concurrent accreditation to Sri Lanka.

The Division coordinated the formulation of an Action Plan comprising targeted initiatives in forging closer trade and investment ties, connectivity, people-to-people contacts, as well as education and scientific and technical cooperation between Sri Lanka and countries in the Latin America and Caribbean region.  Mechanisms identified to strengthen bilateral cooperation include the exchange of high-level visits, signing of bilateral Agreements and MOUs, as well as measures to enhance Sri Lanka’s presence in the region.

Points of Contact

Director General

Name: Mr. Sabarullah Khan
Telephone :+94 112 343 355
Email : lac(at)

Personal Assistant to DG 

Name: Ms.Thilini Gunarathne
Telephone: +94 117 024 897

Assistant Director

Name: Ms. Medhavi Peris
+94 117 101 176
Email: medhavi.peris(at)

 Head of the Branch

Name: Ms. R.K. Devika Wijeratna
+94 117 101 179
Email: lac(at)